max planck institut
mpii logo Minerva of the Max Planck Society

Curriculum Vitae of Kurt Mehlhorn     ( download in pdf-format)


29.08.1949born in Ingolstadt, Germany
1968-1971student of computer science and mathematics at TU München
1971-1974student at Cornell University, Ithaca, USA
1972married to former Ena Friedrichson, three children
1974Doctor of Philosophy, Computer Science, Cornell University, Dissertation ``Polynomial and Abstract Subrecursive Classes''

Employment and Scholarships

1971-1974Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes
1973-1974Cornell University Fellowship
1974-1975Research Associate at Universität des Saarlandes, Dept. of Computer Science
1975-presentProfessor of Computer Science,Universität des Saarlandes
1990-presentDirector, Max-Planck-Institut for Computer Science in Saarbrücken
1995Cofounder (together with Stefan Näher and Christian Uhrig) Algorithmic Solutions GmbH



1986Leibniz-Award, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
1989Humboldt-Award for German-French Cooperation
1995Member of Academia Europaea
1999Fellow, Association for Computing Machinery
2001Member of Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften
2002Honorary Doctorate Degree, Otto-von-Guericke Universität
2004Member of Leopoldina, Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften
2004Member of acatech, Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (National Academy of Science and Engineering)
2006Honorary Doctorate Degree, University of Waterloo, Canada, picture
2008Honorary Doctorate Degree, Aarhus University,Denmark, announcement, pictures
2011ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award
2012Korrespondierendes Mitglied, Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften
2012Hari Sahasrabuddhe Lecture on Inflections in Computing
2013Khwarizmi International Award
2014Erasmus Medal, Academia Europaea
2014Foreign Member, United States National Academy of Engineering
2014Honorary Doctorate Degree, University of Gothenburg picture
2014Foreign Member, Indian Academy of Engineering
2015Foreign Associate, United States National Academy of Sciences
2016EATCS Fellow
2017Honorary Doctorate Degree, University of Patras
2018Honorary Member, Gesellschaft zur Foerderung des Forschungstransfers

Editorial Responsibilities

1981-1986Information Processing Letters
1985-2001Information and Computation
1988-2001SIAM Journal of Computing
1988-2001Journal of Discrete and Computational Geometry
1990-2001International Journal of Computational Geometry & Applications
1990-presentComputational Geometry: Theory and Applications, electronic submission, Editor in Chief
2004-2013ACM Transactions on Algorithms, Editor
2004-presentJapan Journal of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (JJIAM), Member of Advisory Board
2008-presentMathematical Programming Computation, Member of Advisory Board
2010-2013Journal of the ACM
2014-2015Communications of the ACM, News Board

Other Responsibilities

1976-1978Chairman of Computer Science Department, Saarbrücken
1987-1989Chairman of Computer Science Department, Saarbrücken
1986-1988Speaker Sonderforschungsbereich 124, VLSI-Entwurfsmethoden und Parallelität
1993-1999Member of the Senate, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (German National Science Foundation)
1993-2000Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Gesellschaft für Mathematik und Datenverarbeitung (GMD)
1993-1996Member of the Scientific Advisory Board, Siemens Corporate Research
1994-1997Prime Contractor, EU-Project ALCOM
1995-1998Member of the Senate, Helmholtz Gesellschaft der Großforschungseinrichtungen (National Research Labs)
1998-2000Prime Contractor, EU-Project GALIA
1998-2004Member of Board of Trustees, International Computer Science Institute, Berkeley
2001International Review Panel, UK research in Computer Science, Report
2001Review Committee, Computer Science Department, ETH Zürich
2001-2002Vice Chairman, Chemisch-Physikalisch-Technische Sektion der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft
2002Chairman, Review Committee, Computer Science Department, Humboldt University, Berlin
2002-2008Vice President, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft
2002-2014Member of Senate, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft
2005Review Committee, CWI, Amsterdam
2006Review Committee, EPSRC ICT-Review
2006-2012Board of Governors, Jacobs University Bremen
2008-presentPrincipal Investigator, Cluster of Excellence, Multimodal Computing and Interaction
2009-presentJoint Advisory Board, Carnegie Mellon, Qatar
2009-2017Chairman of the Scientific Board and Member of the Board of Trustees, IST Austria
2010-presentCo-Director, Indo Max Planck Center for Computer Science (IMPECS)
2011-2014Scientific Advisory Board, Simons Foundation
2014-2016Award Committee, KNAW Academy Professorship
2014-2017Award Committee, Goedel Prize
2015-2017Scientific Advisory Board, Simons Institute for the Theory of Computing
2015-2017Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board of INRIA
2015-2017Award Committee, ESA Test-of-Time Award
2016-presentEuropean Research Council

Search MPII (type ? for help)